It’s been a while, eh?

Hello World.

So, I finally had that CT Angiogram, and found out a bit more about my “condition”. I was actually wrong in thinking a fistula was less risky. With an AVM I have a 2-3% chance of a rupture every year of my life. With an AVF I have a 10% chance of rupture every year of my life, so…

The doctors at the U are great. Although one of them does stare at my collar bone when he talks to me, they know what they are doing when it comes to my brain.

Long story short, I need to have another Angiogram, but this time under general anesthesia. The findings from the CTA were inconclusive, and did not tell them exactly where the blood was flowing. They are pretty sure there is a fistula component to the cluster-fuck in my brain, but they want to be sure before they start treatment. Drrp. This angiogram will be a bit more painful and take longer, hence the gen. anes. They have to go farther into my head and into the blood vessels of my face. I don’t really feel like being awake for that.

This will be a more specific test, going only to the parts they need to see. After the angiogram we will discuss treatment, which for a fistula is embolization or surgery. For an AVM it is radiation or surgery. I have a lot of decisions to make…

I started a new job, and it is AWESOME. I am so damn happy to be out of the Children’s Theatre. I am on my feet all day, and I have a 7 mile bike ride to work (if it’s not 100 degrees outside). I started to jog again, and am just trying to take care of myself through all of this.

More updates to come. The Angiogram might take place the last week of July or the first week of August.

I hope all of you are well and enjoy this beautiful day!

About keepingupwithit

I currently live in a sweet little neighborhood in Minneapolis with my darling fiance and awkward dog. I love to draw, write, eat cookies, go for long walks, and drink lots of tea. I graduated from the Minneapolis College of Art and Design and do some freelance design work on the side, but work full time at a theater in town. This is a place intended for me to speak my mind, and hopefully for you to speak yours as well. Thank you for visiting!

2 responses to “It’s been a while, eh?

  1. Aunt Janet

    Hi Jenn

    I”m so sorry you are going through this,. Your Mom has kept me up to date, but today she told me you had a blog. I love it, but I wish you didn’t have the brain thing going on. I think I’ll be seeing you in October. I’m excited about meeting Jeremy. You are a beautiful strong woman and I know you will be get through this! Love you. ~Aunt Janet

    • Thank you so very much Janet! And will we see you in October?! Does that mean you will be in VT? I can’t wait for you to meet Jeremy 🙂 He is wonderful, talented and sweet as can be. I am sure you will love him!
      This process has definitely been eye-opening. I am aware of my priorities, and cherish the time I have on this planet. Thank you for the support!
      Love you and miss you lots

Leave a Reply

